ARY to host film awards in April

ARY-movie-750x400ARY Digital is all set to host brand new film awards in Pakistan and our sources tell us that it will include three categories: Viewer’s choice, Jury and Technical. The Jury includes actress and producer Zeba Bakhtiar, Lollywood big wig Syed Noor, filmmaker Mehreen Jabbar, Rashid Khawaja, filmmaker and producer Hassan Zaidi, director Sangeta and veteran actress Samina Peerzada.

The jury will be selecting winners for technical awards and critics choice. Viewers will be able to vote for Popular awards through text, telephone and online voting. Audiences in the US, UK and Middle East will be able to vote too.

You can get all the updates from their Facebook page.

2013 saw a plethora of film releases. Bilal Lashari’s Waar starring Shaan Shahid, Shamoon Abbassi and Ayesha Khan won many hearts (even across the border). Humayun Saeed’s Main hoon Shahid Afridi was a commercial success and Zinda Bhaag by Meenu Gaur and Fariad Nabi was even sent to the Oscar’s as a submission for Best Foreign Film.

Other movies that mad their mark include Josh starring Amina Sheikh and Mohib Mirza, Lamha (Seedling) starring Mr and Mrs Mohib again and Ishk Khuda.

The voting will begin soon and we are all for channels encouraging movie makers to invest more time in Pakistani cinema. A total of thirty-five films were released in Pakistan, in 2013, including 11 Urdu, 6 Punjabi and 17 Pashto films. Out of these at least eight films have been shortlisted for nominations inclusing Waar, Main Houn Shahid Afridi, Lamha, Josh, Ishk, Khuda, Zinda Bhaag and Siyaah.

2014 promises to be even bigger and we can see ARY Film awards becoming an honor for local takent.

facebook comments:

Leave a Reply